Plot 30

an urban co-op garden adventure

Carrots, onions, and beets… oh my!

on May 11, 2012

Lauren and I were out in the sunshine from 12:30-1:30 this afternoon, enjoying our lunch in the garden (note: our lunch was not the garden, the garden is where we lunched… err… perhaps that makes better sense in my head…)

*awkward silence*

We planted:

  • 1 row of green onions
  • 1 row of carrots
  • 2 cauliflower plants
  • 4 kale plants
  • 1 row of tubular beets
  • 1 row or (regular?) beets

The beets need extra special love and care, and shouldn’t be allowed to “crust over” (so says the seed package) so we’ll have to be vigilant about watering these babies.

As a veggie garden newby, it was great to be out there with Lauren who could boss me about and tell me what to do (really, I mean that.) I would love to spend my time out there with someone who can teach or explain as we go until I develop my green thumb a bit more, so Lauren… I might become your garden doppelganger.

Speaking of which, I will draw up a schedule for our watering and tending ASAP so we know who is doing what and when (heaven forbid our beets should crust!)

p.s. On this weekend’s agenda: buy gardening gloves, rock-em-sock-em rubber boots, and one super fancy garden gnome (because I covet the gnome kitty corner our plot…)

–Amanda

One response to “Carrots, onions, and beets… oh my!

  1. Lauren says:

    Ack! You didn’t actually listen to what I was saying, did you?! Uh oh.

    But it *was* fun—and an amazing day to be outside. Thanks for your offer to pull the schedules together, Amanda. We’ve got to take care of our “babies”!

Leave a Reply

