Plot 30

an urban co-op garden adventure

Last night I fell in love, and his name was “kale chips”…

on July 6, 2012

Following the harvest schedule (thanks again, Lauren and Kumkum) I took the liberty to snag a few kale leaves yesterday at lunch. Lauren shared her kale chip recipe with me and I am now totally addicted to these nutritious who-knew-they-were-kale potato-like chips.

Kale Chips

  • Turn your oven to 350. Line a baking tray with parchment paper and put it aside.
  • Remove the leaves from the kale stock (which I’m told can be quite bitter.) I then chose to tear my leaves up into smaller bit size pieces.
  • Oil up your hands with olive oil (I used EVOO) and massage the kale pieces so they are well oiled (they don’t need to be dripping, just slick with oil.) Lay each piece on the parchment paper.
  • Our kale is quite salty on it’s own, so no need for added salt (although feel free to spice as you like!) I took Lauren’s advice and sprinkled on chili powder.
  • Pop your kale in the warm oven for 7 minutes (my oven cooks quickly so this was all I needed, but if you are doing more than one tray Lauren recommends rotating the pans from top to bottom and leaving them in for another few minutes… Let your oven guide you.)
  • Don’t let them overcook… They should be crispy when you remove them from the oven but not totally brown.

Cool and enjoy! I have a sample here for lunch if you want to try.

Thanks Lauren, and thank you garden.

2 responses to “Last night I fell in love, and his name was “kale chips”…

  1. Lauren says:

    You’re very welcome! They are *so* good, it’s hard to believe they’re good for you. Next year – let’s just plant kale! Enjoy your harvest! Cheers, Lauren

  2. kumkum says:

    Yes they are super good. I have also tried making them with a tandoori dressing but I totally prefer them plain, with a dash of pepper. And as a customer at the desk shared: they don’t keep well. So simply share…like Amanda!!

Leave a Reply

