Plot 30

an urban co-op garden adventure

Get thee to thine garden!

on August 13, 2012

I was out at lunch today watering and harvesting and wowza! What a bumper crop we have right now. I pulled quite possibly the largest beet I’ve ever seen from our wee plot. Seriously. This beet is a monster. So big, in fact, that garden volunteer lady (I’m sorry, I can’t remember her name… ) took a photo for prosperity.  I felt a bit like this guy…  *wink*

Alongside Monster Beet (it’ll be a shame to eat him, as I feel like we have a relationship now that I’ve named him…) I got myself some super huge carrots and of course, more kale for my chips. Oh, and I also tugged off a pocket full of tomatoes, hot off the vine and super sweet.

Get thee to thine garden, fellow gardeners, and harvest thine crop. Katie, Lauren, and Linda I believe it’s our week, although I’d encourage others to pull too so that nothing goes to rot (as per the minutes from the last meeting). The beets are super squished and pushing up out of the soil now, alongside big fatty carrots.

Thinking it’s time we pitched the herbs… Yes? I can do that Thursday at lunch.

Also… *scuffs toe*… Volunteer lady hinted that we were behind with our weeding, mainly referring to the giant weeds growing behind our trellis. I pulled and I pulled and I pulled with all my might and took out the two trees weeds sprouting in behind our plot but there are a few dandelions I wasn’t able to get to. I gather she’s none to pleased with our errant neighbors and has requested that they “kindly harvest their rotting vegetables”.  I for one don’t want to get on the bad side of this wonderful organization, nor do I think anyone else would either!

Leave a Reply

